PRESS RELEASE

APPLICATION FOR PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION OPENS ON 13 JUNE 2023

For the upcoming Presidential Election, application for the Certificate of Eligibility and submission of community declarations will open on 13 June 2023 and close on the 5th day after the Writ of Election is issued. Late applications will not be accepted.

- 2 Presidential Election 2023 will be an <u>open election</u>. Prospective candidates who wish to stand for this election must submit an application to the Presidential Elections Committee (PEC) for a Certificate of Eligibility. They must also submit a community declaration to the Community Committee. This is for the purpose of ascertaining when the next reserved election will be held. If no one from a particular community is elected to the office of the President for the past five terms, the next election shall then be reserved for that community.
- 3 The PEC is chaired by Mr Lee Tzu Yang, Chairman of the Public Service Commission. The Community Committee is chaired by Mr Edward D'Silva. The compositions of both committees are at <u>Annexes A and B</u>.

Certificate of Eligibility

- The Certificate of Eligibility will state that for the purposes of the Presidential Election, the PEC certifies that:
 - (a) the applicant is a person of integrity, good character and reputation; and
 - (b) the applicant meets the relevant public sector or private sector service requirements.
- 5 Prospective candidates are encouraged to use the digital services for candidates at the Elections Department (ELD)'s website to prepare the application form for the Certificate of Eligibility.
- The form must be printed and submitted to ELD with all the supporting documents no later than the 5th day after the Writ of Election is issued. We encourage prospective candidates to submit their application for the Certificate of Eligibility early.

Community Declaration

- 7 In an open election, a prospective candidate may apply to the Community Committee for a Community Certificate by submitting a community declaration for:
 - (a) the Chinese community;
 - (b) the Malay community; or
 - (c) the Indian or Other Minority communities.
- 8 A prospective candidate who does not consider himself to be a member of any of these communities may also state so in his community declaration. The Community Committee can either accept the community declaration and issue him a notice of

acceptance of his community declaration or invite him to submit another community declaration for one of the communities.

9 Prospective candidates are encouraged to use the digital services for candidates at ELD's website to submit their community declaration early. They may also (but need not) submit additional information to support their declaration.

ISSUED BY ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE

12 June 2023

Composition of Presidential Elections Committee

Chairman

Mr Lee Tzu Yang

Chairman of the Public Service Commission, who is the Chairman of the Committee

Members

Mr Ong Chong Tee

Chairman of the Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority

Professor Chan Heng Chee

Member of the Presidential Council for Minority Rights, appointed by the Chairman of that Council

Dr Chua Thian Poh

Member or former member of the Council of Presidential Advisers (but not the sitting Chairman of that Council or a former member who vacated his seat under Article 37F(2)(a) or (c)), appointed by the Chairman of that Council

Justice Kannan Ramesh

Person who is qualified to be or has been a Supreme Court Judge, appointed by the Chief Justice

Justice Quentin Loh

Person who, in the opinion of the Prime Minister, has expertise and experience acquired in the private sector that is relevant to the functions of the Committee, appointed by the Prime Minister

Composition of Community Committee

Chairman	Mr Edward D'Silva
Chinese Community Sub-Committee	Chairman
	Mr Teo Siong Seng
	Members
	Mr Kho Choon Keng
	Mr Lim Ming Yan
	Mr Chua Chim Kang
	Professor Lily Kong Lee Lee
Malay Community Sub- Committee	Chairman
	Mr Mohamed Sa'at Abdul Rahman
	Members
	Dr Hadijah Bte Rahmat
	Mr Mohammad Alami Musa
	Mdm Rahayu Mohamad
	Mr Zulkifli Bin Baharudin
Indian and Other Minority Communities Sub-Committee	Chairman
	Assoc. Prof Narayanan Ganapathy
	Members
	Mr Khiatani Manohar Ramesh
	Mr Ravinder Singh s/o Harchand Singh
	Mr Vincent Schoon
	Dr Zahabar Ali